fTunes.

8 May

Being a little music-deprived lately, I thought about songs I like and how many of them could actually be called feminist. Well… um… The result wasn’t really overwhelming, but the songs I could think of are awesome (at least to me ;)).

I know there are tons of lists like this one out there and I am sure I’m repeating the listing of songs that make other people’s top tens on a regular basis, but anway: these are some of the ones I came up with… Obviously, this list is leaning very heavily towards Hip Hop/Pop and the US (which is simply due to personal preferences),  so I’ll appreciate further suggestions :)!

Queen Latifah: U.N.I.T.Y. ["Who you callin' a bitch?!" / "You put your hands on me again, I'll put your ass in handcuffs."]:

Tata Vega: Miss Celie’s Blues (Sister) ["Oh sister, have I got news for you: I'm somethin', I hope you think that you're somethin' too."]:

Madonna: Human Nature ["I'm not your bitch, don't hang your shit on me."]:

Obviously, Bikini Kill: Rebel Girl ["Where she walks, the revolution's coming."]:

Nikki Lynette: Shut the F Up, Boy ["I'm a complicated, counter culture, reckless individual."]:

Pink: U and Ur Hand ["I'm not here for your entertainment."]:

To a certain degree… Lauryn Hill: Doo Wop (That Thing) ["Babygirl, respect is just a minimum."]:

Joy Denalane: Change ["But people don't need charity, it's justice that we need."]:

In a sense… P.O.S.: Duct Tape ["Baby's got a Mama and a roll of duct tape."]:

India Arie: I Am Not My Hair ["I am not my hair, I am not this skin, I am not your expecations."]:

Oh, the bitter irony… The guy? Hell no! This song? Yes. Tupac Shakur: Keep Ya Head Up ["And since a man can't make one, he has no right to tell a woman when and where ta create one."]:

Obviously, Ani DiFranco: Not A Pretty Girl ["Maybe you'd prefer a maiden fair - isn't there a kitten stuck up a tree somewhere?"]:

Sookee (feat. Refpolk): Einige meiner besten Freunde sind Männer ["Er feiert Subversion, doch ihm fehlt das understatement."]:

Lesley Gore: You Don’t Own Me [...pretty self-explanatory :)]:

5 Responses to “fTunes.”

  1. zweisatz May 8, 2012 at 10:04 am #

    Oh cool cool cool :) Danke!

    • kiturak May 8, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

      gleichfalls. Ich hör mich durch, yay! btw, fuck GEMA. Queen Latifah gibts zum Glück auch woanders als youtube. Noiseaux sonst, ne?… Bin noch am Überlegen. Oder Schlafen ;)

      • accalmie May 8, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

        @zweisatz und kiturak: ah, damn, ich hab mich auch gefragt, ob man davon irgendwas sehen kann über’m teich… youtube is mittlerweile so nutzlos in deutschland, sorry… und, oh gott, aber sicher: NOISEAUX – auch auf tour :)!

  2. kiturak June 9, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

    So I’m incredibly sad I can’t seem to find this 70s (? like, reeeally long time ago) feminist punk song that brought tears to my eyes – I don’t even remember the singer’s name or the lyrics, she was a young woman/girl at the time, white – someone linked to it, somewhere, years ago, I listened to it about 100 times, then moved on. One day I’ll find it and post it here, promised. In the meantime, I have an enduring musical crush on Lauryn Hill who seems to be in some trouble at the moment – so via Racialicious’ Friday MixTapes, here’s one of her songs that I find just generally empowering,
    Everything is Everything
    http://www.metacafe.com/watch/sy-1720407298/lauryn_hill_everything_is_everything_official_music_video/

    • accalmie June 9, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

      oh, i’m sorry :( – i hate when that happens… many thanks for more lauryn :)! i can’t believe “the miseducation” is almost 15 years old by now… it’s still one of my favorites of all time!

Comments are closed.

